We Could Be Heros

09/05/2016 § Leave a comment

AFP_FU9HP-3464Pleasant portrait. The photos of Theresa I’ve seen rarely show her smiling.

There’s really nothing quite like having your heroes unmasked in front of your eyes. Several years ago while watching hours of Kurosawa films with my film-o-phile best friend Alvin we watched an ad for the classic Richard Attenborough-directed Ben Kingsley portrayal of “Gandhi” (which should illustrate just how long ago I’m talking about.) My friend spat out the name “Gandhi” as if it were poison. I was of course shocked. Hardly a week went by that Alvin didn’t spout off about something that I didn’t know anything about, that was interesting, and it was only after I did the research that I would figure out how wrong he was (and he was often wrong, to varying degrees, but still it made for an interesting friendship.)

Alvin, a self-described director-of-sorts himself (apparently he dabbled in film in college), also believed that skillful editing had nothing to do with the fact that a one hour episode of Iron Chef took exactly one hour even with commercials. To this day I sincerely hope he was screwing with my mind.

Alvin went on to describe how at Gandhi’s direction the division of the Hindus and the Muslims into greater India and the Pakistani nation resulted in incredible bloodshed on both sides. There was certainly truth to his view, but it was much more nuanced than one might guess from that simple blanket, and obviously biased, statement. (I never did understand how Alvin’s bias lay exactly, but the way he relayed the story to me had some obvious negative slant.)

As I would later discover the bloodshed was going on before Gandhi helped push the division through, so laying the horror specifically at the feet of Gandhi is pushing it a bit. He also shook his head vigorously at my mock observation that his opinion of conservatives made him appear as though he could swear they were blood-thirsty aliens from the far side of the galaxy.

“They very well may be…” he replied with no mockery in his voice.

Ok…

Canonization is the Nobel Prize of the Catholic world; it shouldn’t be given out lightly. Even though it requires the silly  proof that two miracles can be shown to have been preformed by the nominee (I really take that as more of idealized attributes than a pair of prerequisites) it is indeed an example and symbol of what heights human kindness can rise to a world of base inaction.

It was with great surprise that I read several years after my conversation with Alvin a magazine article that Mother Theresa has a rather callous hand with her charges; the poor and indigent of Calcutta. As I researched her life- over the last several years and for this column, I would find the truth more nuanced and less black and white than I thought.

Much like a Kurosawa film her life had deeper meaning and covered cracks than the usual story as seen from the slip cover.

Christopher Hitchens, the atheist’s atheist, produced a BBC documentary of her work based on a treatise of her finances by Aroup Chatterjee. Not surprisingly it was a less than glowing review of her life and work. She also accepted awards from dictators and appears to have possibly promoted her causes even to the cost of the people under her care, to a small extent. Vijay Prashad had some particularly scathing words to describe her work.

I don’t particularly wish anyone ill, least of all after they are dead. And I certainly don’t believe Theresa was a jaded publicity whore making HER mark in the world at the cost of the thousands who suffered in Calcutta (today’s Kolkata) during her tenure, and still do to this day. Is the world a better place for her having been in it? I think so. But maybe there’s something to be said for our heroes becoming larger than life after they’re gone.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading We Could Be Heros at Twittech Conditional Behavior Modification.

meta

